Stat Moocs

I have always thought that a multidisciplinary path was a good option for a strong academic creative background, and in fact, I am very happy to have made my career that way; but… when I started my Ph.D. I realized that I had a few weaknesses.

My “dark beast” was statics, so I had to learn very fast -in order to really achieve my goals and produce academic capital with a minimum of quality. I tried many things, but in the end, I opted to step back and do a Pos-Grad course in Data Analysis -quite good so far. In this course, I’m relearning those concepts that were laying asleep somewhere in my memory, but as well relearning my “black monster”: SPSS. I know that many people cannot by a matter of time, access, etc. do this strategic step; but I would actually encourage you.

Obviously, sometimes we need more resources, explanation, and details; reason why I searched for MOOCS as a complement to my formal education. There are many sites offering this kind of content, but today I refer to EDX. It is a very easy to play platform, with app for Android and iOS, so you can actually work on your courses anywhere at any time. There are many courses from very important universities available, so you should have a look! You have some options as well, audit (no diploma, no payment required) or pursuit a diploma (you pay some taxes, you get a diploma). In any case, you have to respect the honor code, and as well complete the mandatory task (some homework, interaction, co-learning…).  If you are at a partner university, you can even get transferable credits for your EDX courses, what makes this platform more playable and appealing.

Some universities have set micro-masters and series of thematic courses. The first intend to provide specific knowledge and they look like a good option to enrich our profiles obtaining -if subscribed- an interesting diploma. The second are focused on specific topics, kind of a monographic course or series of courses, that provide an overview of that specific field.

As well, there are two modalities: self-paced (you do whenever you want); and timed (time restricted with starting and ending date). I am more into the first type, as my time is restricted.

Stats are my “pending” thing, but I believed that it was due to a lack of math knowledge. I enrolled to Pre-University Calculus by DelfX, in order to refresh my numbers. They have a facebook group as many of other courses, so… you can learn and make friends too.

I am very concerned with methodology, and surfing on EDX offer I have found a few that you may be interested too:

Data Analysis for Social Scientists

  • Length: 12 weeks
  • Effort: 8-12 hours per week
  • Price: FREE
    Add a Verified Certificate for $49
  • Institution: MITx
  • Subject: Data Analysis & Statistics
  • Level: Introductory
  • Languages: English
  • Video Transcripts: English

Statistical Thinking for Data Science and Analytics

  • Length: 5 weeks
  • Effort: 7 – 10 hours per week
  • Price: FREE
    Add a Verified Certificate for $99
  • Institution: ColumbiaX
  • Subject: Data Analysis & Statistics
  • Level: Introductory
  • Languages: English
  • Video Transcripts: English

In case you speak Spanish:

Técnicas Cuantitativas y Cualitativas para la Investigación

  • Length: 6 semanas
  • Effort: 3 horas a la semana
  • Price: FREE
    Add a Verified Certificate for $50
  • Institution: UPValenciaX
  • Subject: Data Analysis & Statistics
  • Level: Intermediate
  • Languages: Spanish
  • Video Transcripts: Spanish

You may be interested in this program by Microsoft.

There are many more, and I encourage you to browse on their search motor.

See you around guys!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

